Some days are more special than other. 5th May is a special day for me. This year, I witnessed some students graduate which is probably one of the few days in the year where my job really means something.

This year, I witnessed some students graduate which is probably one of the few days in the year where my job really means something. For most students, I only teach them one module: microeconomics and to be honest, I don’t really care if they remember anything that I taught. After all, how many of them will go on to become economists or even study economics at a higher level? It would great if they learned how to apply some microeconomic concepts to help them make better choices but that wasn’t really what the focus of the module was. What’s more important is that I hope they see me as someone they can count on if they should ever need my help. I wish them all the best and hope that they all realise that their road ahead is long so whatever they do, enjoy the journey and take the time to smell the roses whatever their ambitions might be.

5th May is also the birthday of the future Pirate King. It’s a happy coincidence because the 5th of May also happens to be the day I got married to the most wonderful person in the world. Before getting married and having a place of our own, I never imagined that I would be washing the dishes, changing bed sheets, mopping the floor, cleaning the toilet and cooking on a regular basis. As dreary as the word ‘chores’ sound, I’ve come to realise that doing chores isn’t so bad. It’s a moment where one can just focus on the task at hand and not get lost in random thoughts or “what-ifs”. It also lets one appreciate life a little bit better and I suspect that if the day should come, I’ll be a little more resilient as well.

This year, the Mrs made a remark (in jest or was it a hint that I didn’t get?) that I thought was quite cute. She said that in the past, I’d probably plan a nice surprise, at a nice restaurant while this year, I took her to a ramen restaurant (it was good ramen though). When we’re fifty, it’s possible that we may be at a hawker centre (if they still exist then) having fish soup.

But you know what? There’s no one else I’d rather be having fish soup with.

