In case you haven’t heard, there’s a new documentary on Warren Buffett. If you don’t even know who Warren Buffet is…well, it’s time for you to find out.

HBO’s documentary on Buffett is a fantastic introduction to the living legend of a man. Why’s Warren Buffett a legend? Well, he’s not just one of the richest men on the planet but he’s pledged and has already started giving, a substantial portion of his wealth away.

For me, there isn’t much that I haven’t already heard before (the part on him buying breakfast from McDonald’s was interesting) but it’s always refreshing to see it on a screen rather than from the pages of a book. For a more detailed account of his life, check out his authorised biography, The Snowball by Alice Schroeder.

Why Warren Buffett is such an inspiration to me is a more personal tale. It started sometime in 2006 when I was still studying at the National University of Singapore. The NUS Investing Society (or Finance Society), which probably stems from the Business School, was organising a book sharing by Robert Miles, author of Warren Buffett Wealth, and I guess they wanted a wider audience and so they were putting up all these advertisements around the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences where I was.

Prior to the talk, all I knew about Warren Buffett was that he was one of the richest guys on the planet but other than that, I knew nothing about him. I knew nothing about the stock market. Heck, I didn’t even know what I wanted to do after university. That talk changed everything.

After that talk, I started reading up on Buffett, Graham, Value Investing, the stock market, financial statement analysis, stock valuation and so on. And there’s something new to learn about the markets every single day. I’m now approaching the tenth year that I’ve begun investing for myself and it’s all thanks to that talk back in 2006. Probably the most useful thing that came out of my university education. Watching Becoming Warren Buffett just might do for you what attending that talk did for me.

PS: I’m not sharing a link to the documentary because I’m pretty sure that goes against copyrights but I’m sure whoever’s reading this will know where to find it.

