The struggle is real. Doubly so for me as it’s still a public holiday here in Singapore and this comes at the end of a roughly two-week period of being on leave and holiday feasting. But I had to do it.

Last night, I set my alarm for 7 am. This morning when it went off, I had to fight the demons luring me back to the land of dreams and put on my running shorts and shoes and got out of the house.

The run along my usual route was exceptionally tough today. Groggy because I haven’t woken up so early in the last week (which demonstrates how easy it is to lose a good habit) and also due to the lack of exercise.

 

sunrise

Maybe it would have been easier to wake up if I had a view like this

 

I’m glad to say that I did get my run. Exercise has plenty of benefits and hacking an effective exercise routine into my life is going to be one of the things I’m going to work on this year.

So, lesson for today- struggling isn’t bad. In fact, in many facets of life, we struggle. We have to struggle before we reach our goal. Struggling is life’s way of teaching us so that we remember the lesson more deeply. The danger is in misinterpreting struggle or discomfort as a signal for avoidance. If we were supposed to avoid it, intense pain would be the more appropriate signal just like the feeling we would get when we touch a hot pan.

