2016 is coming to an end and boy, what a year it has been.

Crazy things happening in the world like Trump getting elected, Britain exiting the EU, the whole world seems to be controlled by hardliners like Duterte and Putin with Trump set to join them.

On a personal level, 2016 was one filled with uncertainty. I was uncertain about a lot of things- should I leave my job? Will we have enough when my wife decided to stop working? Am I investing right even though I’ve been investing for almost 10 years now?

Amidst all that I’ve come to realise a few things. Life is always full of uncertainties. No one can be 100% sure that it’s going to rain or shine tomorrow despite what the weather forecast says. As for life and death, that’s even harder. Life can simply go out in the blink of an eye due to a traffic accident or some hidden, previously unknown condition that only manifests itself suddenly like how a normally healthy person suddenly collapses after running a marathon.

Some people might think that uncertainty is a reason for people to stay within their comfort zone and not go out and explore. My view is that precisely because life is uncertain, we have to go out and try something new. We need to appreciate the uncertainty in life because that it is exactly that point in time where we feel different things like curiousity, intrigue, danger, wonder, awe that we know we are alive.

I’ve been blogging for quite a while now and for the most part, I’ve been treating this like a diary (a neglected one, unfortunately) where I reflect and occasionally rant about things. That’s going to change.

Going forward, this blog will focus on one thing- Living better. Under this main theme, there are three areas that I’ll focus on (health, wealth, and living well) which I believe are the key areas of focus in order to live better. I can’t say that I have the blueprint or the guide to this which is why futures posts will focus on philosophy, thoughts, hacks, experiments, real-life stories as well as my own experience trying out some things in the areas mentioned above. I call this the “ReLive” project and welcome you to follow along on my journey.

Stay tuned for more in 2017.

