It’s been 9 years since I’ve gotten my toes wet in the investing world and it’s been amazing. I’m pretty familiar with equities, ETFs and REITs now and even dabbled a little in Options.

Along the way, I’ve become a CFA charter holder and more importantly, I’ve seen my portfolio grow a tremendous amount. I don’t want to reveal any details but I started with a tiny, tiny amount (four figures) and now it’s six.

Of course, not all of the returns were due to investment gains. I’ll be kidding if I told you that I’m extremely confident of every investment decision that I take- there’s still a lot of second-guessing my valuations and I know that nine years isn’t much compared to people who have seen decades of ups and downs in the market.I was also lucky to have started just about when the market topped. When you have little to lose, bear markets are extremely fertile grounds for finding gems.

I was also lucky to have started just about when the market topped. When you have little to lose, bear markets are extremely fertile grounds for finding gems. Furthermore, the fact that you can almost do no wrong due to the fact that the market has very little downside left means that you won’t be psychologically scarred by the bear.

To be honest, now that my portfolio is much larger, I won’t know how I feel when the next bear comes around. All I can say is that my investment plan seems to be working well since I’ve been during the minor corrections of 2011 and 2015 till date and I’m actually still posting decent year-on-year returns.

For those young ‘uns, don’t even think twice about getting started in investing.

