Recently, my wife and I celebrated four years of marriage. Yes, I know. Four years isn’t exactly that long- it’s not 15, 25 or even 50 years of marriage. We’ll get there and when we do, I’ll let you know.

More importantly, these four years have been some of the most amazing years of my life. While the days of my youth were spent carefree and (mildly) wild, there was also a lack of direction and purpose. To fill the void, I pretty much spent a lot of time on basketball and wishing that I was a rock star.

Anyway, my wife is the most amazing person I’ve ever known- she’s beautiful and smart (and I’m not saying this because I know she might read this) and loves a certain bear with a penchant for hunny (no typo here). At the same time, she’s detailed and although she often appears to be quiet, she can give a presentation that’s among the most polished I’ve seen.

Does she have any faults? Well, if it were up to me, I wish she would buy less stuff that eventually goes unused. I also wish that she wouldn’t get upset at what I consider trivial matters. But you know what? I wouldn’t have my wife change for the world. She usually is a very strong person and it is only in front of me that she shows a more vulnerable side. I can’t thank her enough for her trust in me.

More importantly, my wife made me a better person. Without her, I wouldn’t be cleaning my own toilet, making my own coffee or I wouldn’t have learnt how to cook (somewhat decently). I wouldn’t have learnt the joys of visiting museums or the joys of exploration.

Sure, we’ve had and will have challenges to overcome but if the past is anything to go by, we’ll be there to help each other get through whatever may come. I’ve always thought that in any relationship, one party is more lucky to have the other.

I’m pretty sure in my case, I’m lucky to have her love me.

 

 

