Finally scored a minor victory- I passed the CFA level 2 exam.

Considering that you hear stories about how some people pass all three exams on their first try (I personally know one person who did it), It’s a little embarrassing that it was my third attempt but I’m glad I finally cleared it. I’m not sure if I would have the mental stamina to do it a fourth time so I’m really glad I don’t have to think about that now.

Some of my friends might be wondering why I’m still trying for the CFA. After all, I’m not currently working in the finance industry and the CFA charter has little value in terms of career progression outside the financial industry.

It may sound silly but I guess you could say it’s my Everest. I have to admit that determination is not one of my key attributes. Many times when I’m stuck in a rut, I think about quitting. Maybe it’s because I made a silent promise to myself that this is one thing I won’t quit so no matter what, I’m going to pass all three exams.

My idea of retirement is also to manage money for family and friends so this would come in useful. After all, Singaporeans are woefully underinvested for retirement and even among my family and friends, financial planning is somewhat haphazard. My dream would be to manage my own monies alongside theirs so that finances won’t be an issue for the rest of their lives.*

Next year, level 3!

*Of course no one person can help another if one chooses to live beyond their means. Money not being an issue refers to being able to put food on the table, not worry about medical bills, having a roof over one’s head, enjoying simple pleasures in life, being able to afford your children’s education and being able to travel once in a while. If one chooses to blow money on supercars, mansions and substitute water for fine champagne, I’m not sure if that person is worth helping in the first place.

