I’m sitting in front of my computer on a Thursday night listening to a Journey album. And the only reason I’m doing so is because the missus is at work.

Work? On a weekday at 8 in the evening?
I’m pretty sure that’s common in a bank but in the Singapore civil service? That’s only for the ones who want a life-long career and singlehood.

Don’t get me wrong, it doesn’t happen most of the time and the missus doesn’t hate her job; but it’s times like this that financial freedom would be most welcome. The missus would most definitely be happier baking, cooking, shopping, decorating and reading that working on a weeknight.

It’s the same for me. My current job isn’t something I’d dread waking up in the morning for. In fact, some nights it occupies my dreams because I really want to do a good job and I feel that there’s value in what I do. Unfortunately, some bits unrelated to my core duty will pop up now and then and I have to ask myself if what I’m doing benefits my students or someone else who made an executive decision for the benefit of his/her yearly appraisal.

I suppose that’s the way it is for most jobs in big organisations.

So what has all this got to do with financial freedom? Well, one of the reasons why we’re working in jobs that we’re okay with is because we need the money. Money for the upcoming flat, money for our daily expenses, money for the leisure that balances the downside of the jobs we do. I admire those hippie enough to go pursue some deep-seated belief or cause; but sorry, that’s not for me- no poor as a church mice while striving to become the best cook/baker/pastry chef/ writer/brewer in the world.

I just checked my portfolio at the beginning of the month and fortunately, I think we’re on track to really do what we want with our lives in 10-15 years time. No more bullshit tasks, no more office politics.

I have a goal and I’m working towards it.

 

 

