Been too busy adjusting into the new workplace and prepping for the event of a lifetime, hence lack of recent posting but recently, a topic of interest has been in the news and that topic is wage inequality.

To start things off, Prof Lim Chong Yah, architect of Economic Restructuring I has come up with what he calls ‘Economic Restructuring II’. In short, ‘Economic Restructuring II’ calls for the freezing of incomes for high income earners while increasing that of the low income earners. (for more details and reactions to his suggestions, read here)

On the other hand, I came across this post by an Australian hedge fund manager whose blog I follow. While it isn’t in the Singapore context, it shares some thoughts and things to think about regarding the main reason for our income inequality-immigration.

Go ahead and read it.

Honestly, I think the whole income/wealth inequality issue is very complex and I’m not knowledgeable enough to make a useful suggestion.

