I’m pretty sure that life in other lands are no different. However I’ve lived in usually-sunny-but-not-so-sunny-these-last-couple-of-weeks Singapore all my life, therefore my thoughts are based on examples here.

Life is ironic.

Yesterday, I aired my thoughts on ComfortDelGro (CDG) revising their taxi fares. The title was puncuated with  an attention-grabbing ‘so what?’ and it was meant to provoke. Hidden within was of course, a deeper message that Singaporeans need to stop acting like victims if they ever want to do better in life. And when I thought about it, I realised that message was most applicable to pro-opposition or anti-PAP (being one doesn’t automatically make you the other). I’ll explain in just a bit. First off, let me post a comment from yesterday’s post that is pretty much typical of what I’ve seen is other netizens’ take on the same issue:

What is you point here??? Nothing to do is it?

Garmen likes people like you, suck thumb and wait to die attitude. Next they will raise bus and MRT fares, then your dream of biking and walking to work and everywhere you go will come true….

Ok, I’m being unfair to most netizens. This dumb phoque (thanks to LIFT, I learn a new word) couldn’t see that I suggested plenty of alternatives to taking (or alleviating the pain of taking) a CDG cab (although the option to take other cabs is seems out since 4 of 5 cab companies are set to follow CDG’s move) but many responses I’ve seen have taken on the voice of a victim- that the government or some authority should step in to do something.

I agree that there is a role that the governments should play- most definitely for the provision of public goods such as roads, parks, utilities etc. but to have a government step in for something even as minor as this when there are plenty of alternatives that one can take?

This is precisely the reason why, as much as anti-PAP folks don’t realise it, the PAP is still in power. Because no one wants to rely on their own resourcefulness. They rather play the blame game and rely on the government of the day to deliver a solution for everything. And of course the government will deliver, as long as votes are concerned, be damned sure that a satisfiable solution will be found.

As Warren Buffett said, “You should invest in a business that even a fool can run, because someday a fool will.” Drawing from this, if you make your life your business, you won’t have to worry about the day the external environment comes in to thwart your life. e.g. Driving’s too expensive? I’ll cab then. Cab’s too expensive, I’ll bus or take the MRT then.

Life is like a game of chor tai tee. Not everyone gets a two of spades. Start living people.

PS: I agree that some groups of people (such as those having to take babies or elderly to the doctors) are more affected by the impact of this taxi price hike since they have less alternatives and help for them should be forthcoming. Elderly support groups can distribute taxi vouchers or associations for the disabled can facilitate alternative modes of transport.

But honestly, let’s take a straw poll here, what proportion of commuters that take taxis on a regular basis (hence being most affected by the revision) fall into these groups?

