I’m having a bout of indigestion as I write this. A time, not so long ago, I remember telling myself once that I’d never, never ever pay for a buffet again; This was after a round at an international buffet when I was still serving NS.

Anyway, buffet tonight was at the Bar and Billiard Room at The Raffles Hotel. The spread was pretty decent, pretty gd ingredients used- I loved the freshness of the tomatoes and the prawns. The cuts of meat may not have been the best but still decent enough. Anyway, the food was good but it wasn’t great. I definitely enjoyed the furnishings and the decor much more than the meal. And for the retail price of $72++, it’s not cheap. So why pay all that money to suffer an indigestion?

On the other hand, I had some really good Fish N Chips in a coffeeshop in Toa Payoh the other day- not greasy, perfect layer of batter, light, fresh fish and all for less than $6. I really enjoyed that meal much more.

Always remember- Price is what you pay, Value is what you get!

PS: I didn’t have to pay for my meal at Bar and Billiard Room tonight so technically, I’ve not broken my own rules.

